Posted by: reformedmusings | June 3, 2017

Minor Tweaks to Kubuntu 17.04

Two things annoyed me about Kubuntu vs. OpenSUSE Tumbleweed. First was the stupid IM icon in the system tray. I couldn’t figure out how to eliminate it, even after uninstalling all the IM programs. It turns out that right-clicking on the system tray itself away from any icons brings up a context menu that allows you to select System Tray Settings. It’s not easy to find a region to right-click and access that dialog. It takes some trial and error, which is why it took me so long to find. Anyway, in the System Tray Settings, you can deselect icons that you don’t want to appear in the tray, including the IM icon. I deselected it and I was free at last.

The other thing I miss is up-to-date desktop versions. Kubuntu 17.04 ships with KDE Plasma 5.9.4. You can obtain a more updated Plasma version by adding the Kubuntu Backports:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:kubuntu-ppa/backports
sudo apt update && sudo apt full-upgrade -y

As of this writing, that will give you Plasma 5.9.5 which has some important fixes in it. It eliminated some IMAP error messages that inundated me at boot up when I first installed Kubuntu. Plasma 5.10 just released, but that isn’t in the backports yet. KDE Neon distributes 5.10, but their repository is only for *buntu 16.04 LTS. I haven’t tried forcing 17.10 to use the repository because it doesn’t seem like a good idea. There’s a good possibility for library mismatches.

My remaining issue concerns Samba. Some clever person either at Samba or Ubuntu decided to disable the DNS provider in Samba, but the way that they did it produces a time consuming error EVERY SINGLE TIME you install a new package. That delay eats up a lot of time. So for now, I have uninstalled Samba, which limits file sharing on my network. At the moment, that’s a small price to pay to eliminate the constant error messages. If I ever solve the Samba issue, I’ll post the solution on this blog.

Leave a Reply

Categories

