Posted by: reformedmusings | November 16, 2014

Recovering GPS function in CyanogenMod 11.0

Somewhere in the nightly production, GPS was broken at least on the d2lte builds, and likely on many others. I didn’t discover this until I was on the road and actually needed the GPS. Navigating off of Google Maps on a 5″ screen while driving isn’t much fun. When I returned, I found that the fix wasn’t obvious or easy, so I thought that I’d offer it here.

My fix process was to do a factory wipe in CWM Recovery, then flash M10 and the appropriate gapps, reboot, then flash the 10/4/2014 nightly. After that, GPS worked fine.

Later, I updated to M11 after another factory wipe. I had to wipe because the 10/4/2014 build was after the source date for M11 and that invites problems. I did flash M12 dirty over M11 last week and all still works fine.

Later nightlies may have addressed the GPS issue – I don’t know. Perhaps a clean install now of M11 or M12 would work. All I can say about that is that I didn’t lose GPS functions with either of those updates.

Overall, M12 seems to be very stable – better even than M11.


Responses

  1. i can’t find the the 10/4/2014 nightly anywhere… u got a link?

    • No. I’ve moved on to a Moto X Pure 2015 and haven’t used these builds since.


Leave a Reply

Categories

