Posted by: reformedmusings | November 16, 2014

Android Lollipop theme on CyanogenMod 11.0 M12

So, Android 5.0 Lollipop AOSP code has been released. The CyanogenMod development teams are building off of that code to make CM 12.0, but that process will take a few months. So, what’s a body to do in the meantime? After all, deferred gratification is the insidious crippler of youth.

Well, CM 11.0 M12 is current as of this post. I was looking for something else on the Google Play Store and found the free IdeaL Lollipop Theme. Very cool!

I installed the theme in M12, went into System settings -> Themes -> Theme packs, selected Lollipop and then the items that I wanted to use from it, then rebooted per the instructions. It worked like a charm.

So, I’m not running Lollipop but my GS3 looks like it. I’m not sure how thrilled I am with the whole Material Design look, but I’m getting used to it. The system font is nice, but a tad smaller than the KitKat default. The icons are OK. Some of the animations seem gratuitous, like the mini-swipe across a soft button when tapping it. The overall look seems “flatter” than KitKat, but that’s just my first impression.

So, if you want an early Lollipop look, try IdeaL’s theme. So far, no issues.

 


Responses

  1. I have normal android lollipop on my Moto X and it’s working quite well. I personally like the whole material design look but it does take some getting used to. The new notification management system is pretty sweet though and I’m really liking the new lock screen.

    • Thanks for the heads-up. I look forward to CM 12.0. Always looking for something new. I adapted to Unity, so I guess I can adapt to MD.


Leave a Reply

Categories

