Posted by: reformedmusings | January 6, 2014

CyanogenMod 11 M2 Snapshot and Samsung Galaxy s3

My last encounter early in the CyanogenMod 11 development didn’t go so well. CM 11 is based on Android 4.4.2, an update from the 4.3.1 I was using until now in CM 10.2.1. The ‘M’ releases aren’t as stable as release candidates, but are more stable than nightlies. With the release of M2, I decided to give CM 11 another go.

I downloaded the M2 snapshot from CyanogenMod, as well as the accompanying 20131208 version of gapps, then copied them to the root directory of my internal SD card on the S3. I then updated ROM Manager, which in turn updated ClockworkMod Recovery to 6.0.4.5. Upon restarting my phone into CWM, I installed M2 from the internal SD card, then flashed gapps, then restarted the phone.

This time, the Galaxy booted normally to the app optimization screen, then finished the boot normally. Awesome:

CM-11-M2-Snapshot

Android 4.4.2 running on my Galaxy S3, sweet!

Things worked so well, including the WiFi this time, that I updated to the 20140106 nightly to obtain some of the specific updates. I used the built-in CM updater and everything worked fine. So that’s what I’m using now.

The only issue that I’ve encountered is that the Privacy Guard icon and notification remain after the program that invoked PG has closed. I haven’t seen this before, but it’s a minor annoyance. All my apps seem to work fine, including Greenify and Xposed.

One disappointment is that CM 11 does not support ART, at least yet. I was looking forward to playing with ART, but repeated attempts to switch from davlik to ART produced promising reboots, but always back to using davlik. Perhaps down the road.

In the meantime, I’m groovin’ with CM 11 and Android 4.4.2.


Responses

  1. […] File Name : Cyanogenmod 11 m2 snapshot and samsung galaxy s3 Source : reformedmusings.wordpress.com Download : Cyanogenmod 11 m2 snapshot and samsung galaxy s3 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

