Posted by: reformedmusings | April 25, 2013

Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail upgrade

Ubuntu released 13.04 Raring Ringtail today. I rarely upgrade on the first day, but Raring is more like a minor tweak. So, when I got home from work, I started the upgrade from 12.10 Quantal. The download took only a few minutes from a mirror site, and install about 15 minutes or so (didn’t time it). I believe that I only had to make a decision on one or two configuration files. The upgrade rebooted at the end.

Upon reboot, almost everything worked fine. I had some errors in a library whose name I don’t remember, but it didn’t seem to affect anything. Raring preserved my configuration, including proprietary drivers. After restoring some of my disabled third-party repositories, updating those files, and then restarted for grins, everything except Radio Tray worked fine. No more library errors. Even VMWare Workstation worked fine.

Radio Tray appears to load, but doesn’t appear on the indicator bar. Other indicators like hardware-sensors and clipit work fine. Perhaps Radio Tray needs an update.

Bottom line to the 13.04 Raring Ringtail upgrade can be expressed in one word – uneventful. Excellent job by the Ubuntu team!


Responses

  1. I’m glad your upgrade went so well.šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

