Posted by: reformedmusings | October 27, 2012

Cleanup on Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal Upgrade

I talked about my pretty smooth upgrade to Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal in this post. As time went on, I found some minor cleanup required.

First were the printers. After upgrade, printing to my Brother HL-5240 Laser proved spotty. In the process, I discovered that one package failed to install in the upgrade. I searched in Synaptic for “brother” packages and found that for some reason, the upgrade did not install brother-cups-wrappper-common. So, I installed the file, deleted the Brother’s entries in the printer list and then reinstalled them to the list. This worked fine and resolved the issue.

Recommendation: Ensure that all your printer support files followed you through the upgrade.

I discovered that even after this, the included Document Viewer wouldn’t print a number of my pdf files. So, I installed Acrobat Reader from Adobe’s website. Simply enter your operating system (Linux), language, and the .deb version, then download the file. To install it, right-click on the downloaded file, choose “Open with…”, then Ubuntu Software Center. When the Software Center loads, click in the Install button and you are off to the races. I still use Document Viewer as my primary pdf viewer, but print troublesome files from Acroread.

I wrote in my previous post about some missing elements in the compiz installation. It turns out that problem is a known issue. There’s a Launchpad bug on file here. Compiz has updated once since the initial upgrade, but this issue remains. The bug status is confirmed but unassigned to anyone to fix. To be clear, I’m fully operational with compiz, just missing some bling.

That’s it so far. Quantal Quetzal has been humming along and remains very stable.

Leave a Reply

Categories

