Posted by: reformedmusings | October 13, 2012

Removing unused Android apps from your Google Play app list

When I updated to my Samsung Galaxy S3, I had to load all my apps. I found that on the All tab of the Google Play app, every app that I ever installed was listed unsorted. There’s no way to sort that screen, and I had tried a lot of stuff when I first came to Android. Ouch.

So, tonight I finally researched the issue and found an solution. It turns out that after years of dodging the issue, Google is finally updating its Play app to allow users to delete apps from the All tab which are not currently installed. I found an advanced copy of the update here. I installed the generic Android app and it does work. However, the All tab still isn’t sorted and the apps must be deleted one at a time. That can be time-consuming. But it’s better than nothing.

Supposedly Google will be updating its Play Store app in the next few days, so if you are patient, good things may come your way.

Categories

