Posted by: reformedmusings | September 28, 2012

Rooting a Samsung Galaxy S III

I talked about getting my new Galaxy S3 in this post. One of the first steps after reloading it for me was to root it. Rooting allows me to fix minor software issues, backup with Titanium Backup Pro, lets me block ads, and gives me more insight into the system.

The Galaxy S3 proved simple and safe to root. The Linux approach using heimdall did not work for me because heimdall isn’t compatible with the QualCOMM CPUs in the U.S. LTE S3, but does work on the international versions. So, I had to use my Windows XP Virtual Machine to root the Samsung.

Excellent, step-by-step instructions may be found on GalaxyS3Root. In addition to pictures at every step, Max even videoed the process. One hint, though. After installing Samsung Kies to get the S3 USB drivers, you have to go into Task Manager and terminate Kies before using Odin.

The first time I tried to install ClockworkMod (CWM) Recovery with Odin, the transfer failed, probably because Kies was running in the background. The Galaxy locked up and then would not reboot, but instead kept telling me that an update failed or something like that. I finally turned it off, booted into recovery, then restarted. The S3 restored whatever it needed and the device booted normally.

It turns out that the Galaxy checks the recovery partition on reboot, and copies the stock version if it finds something different. While that may be annoying for those who prefer CWM Recovery, it also provides a self-repair capability if things don’t go well as in my case. Max recommends deleting two Android system files to prevent CWM Recovery from being overwritten by the system, but I recommend against that course. You can always load CWM Recovery from ROM Manager if/when you need it, as long as you are rooted.

Once I finished the process Max laid out, I had full root. I let the Galaxy rewrite the stock recovery code after I attained root because I don’t use custom ROMs and so don’t need CMW Recovery long term.

I used Google Play to update SuperSU, then was off to the races. I then loaded and ran Voodoo OTA RootKeeper, ROM Manager, AdFree, and Titanium Backup Pro. All require root to work.

A rooted Smartphone is a happy Smartphone!

Responses

  1. […] which resides in /system/framework/framework-res.apk on the phone. You’ll need root access to apply the fix, plus a good file manager. I highly recommend Total Commander for Android. I […]

  2. […] the new ROM manually, but I used ROM Manager. That proved very simple. My Galaxy S3 was already rooted and ClockworkMod Recovery install a long time ago. I was ready to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

