Posted by: reformedmusings | April 17, 2012

Apricorn SATAWire 2.5 inch hard drive adapter

I had 3 foreign laptops in the house for a while. Three different friends had laptop issues at the same time. One was easy because all I had to do was backup their data, install Ubuntu Oneiric 11.10 over Window 7, then restore their data. That was fun.

One laptop was completely dead, though. I had already rebuilt it once a while back. It was old and ready for extreme unction. But my friend wanted the data off of it. I figured that the hard drive was probably OK, but didn’t have any way to get to its data. I hit the web and looked for some kind of adapter.

I found the Apricorn SATAWire adapter that enables you to hook a bare 2.5 inch laptop hard drive to a USB port as an external drive. The adapter provides power to the drive through the USB port. Awesome!

Micro Center sells them locally for $19.99. So, I picked one up, took the drive out of the laptop, and hooked it up to my Ubuntu Oneiric 11.10 PC through a USB hub. It worked like a charm! Linux reads Windows file systems with no problem. So, I simply plugged the backup hard disk to another USB port and copied his files across.

The stated purpose of the Apricorn adapter is to allow one to painlessly upgrade to a larger hard disk in your laptop. The included Windows software will clone your existing drive to the larger new one. I had no use for the software so didn’t mess with it.

If you are like me and attract dead and dying laptops, this little adapter can save a world of headache while saving your friends’ data. It can make you a well-fed hero!

Categories

