Posted by: reformedmusings | July 17, 2011

Fixing 64-bit Adobe Flash 11.0.1.60-0ubuntu0~sevenmachines4

I’m updated my Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Flash Player using the 64-bit sevenmachines repository. The update to 11.0.1.60 totally hosed my Flash setup. Flash quit working in Firefox and Chrome. I tried reverting the installation, but the upgrade didn’t keep the previous version in the cache. Time to find a backup plan.

It turned out that the fix was easy. I went to Adobe’s Flash beta download site and downloaded the 64-bit Linux tar.gz file. I then opened the archive and copied the libflashplayer.so file to /usr/lib/flashplugin-installer/libflashplayer.so.  All the rest of the locations for libflashplayer.so are actually links to that one location. After copying that file, I restarted Firefox and Flash worked fine again.

So, it’s not the core Adobe 11 library that’s the problem, but apparently the sevenmachines build of it for the 64-bit deb has issues. Adobe’s original file works fine.

Categories

