Posted by: reformedmusings | February 19, 2011

Solid State Drive (SSD) performance in Ubuntu 10.04 LTS

I posted here about my new hard drive setup. To recap, I installed a 40 GB Solid State Drive (SSD) for the root and swap partitions and a 2 TB RAID 1 array as my /Home partition. I figured that the SSD would give me a great boot time, which it did, but I didn’t consider the other, continual benefit.

The root partition not only boots the Linux system, it also holds the bulk of the applications as well. This makes application loading fly with an SSD. Even larger programs like LibreOffice Writer and Krusader pop up almost instantly. Awesome.

And it doesn’t take a large drive. My full-up 64-bit Ubuntu system, including the full LibreOffice 3.3, a lot of KDE libraries to support Krusader, Stellarium, video, image, and audio editing takes just 5.7 GB of my 33 GB root partition. Lots of room for growth. Contrast that with 64-bit Windows 7 that requires 20 GB of disk space and MS Office 2010 which fills 3 GB all by itself. Talk about bloatware. Prepare to lay out some big bucks for the largest SSD you can afford to implement a Windows system and application disk.

So far the Intel SSD and Western Digital Black data drives have been rock solid. I have to thank my friend Nate for the idea. Thanks, dude!

Responses

  1. […] more… Tags: black, great-boot, intel, largest, new-hard, root, solid state drive, solid-state, ssd, ssd hard drives, swap-partitions, the-largest, western, western-digital […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

