Posted by: reformedmusings | June 16, 2010

Avant Window Navigator (AWN) and Real-time Sunlight on Lucid

I moved to Avant Window Navigator on my Ubuntu Lucid 10.04 LTS desktop and posted on it here. I decided to move up to medium-sized icons on the AWN dock. It’s easier to see stuff plus the dock goes transparent when it would overlap an active window. That whole intellihide thing is awesome!

Tonight, omgubuntu noted that the interesting Real-time Sunlight Wallpaper (RSW) now has a PPA. I followed the provided instructions, installed, and setup RSW. I found its configuration GUI at Application -> Accessories -> Real-time Sunlight Wallpaper. Setup was simple. I chose the Mollweide projection as the most attractive wallpaper at first, then changed to the Dawn to dusk display. I’ll probably be playing with this for a while. 🙂

The wallpaper itself seems created for a wide-format monitor. Since I have a mostly square monitor, I right-clicked on a clear spot on the desktop, clicked Change Desktop Background, then chose Scale on the Background tab.  Span would have accomplished the same thing. I tried other settings to fill the display with the map, but they all looked funky.

So, now with AWN set to medium and RSW set as the wallpaper, here’s my new Ubuntu desktop with the Mollweide projection RSW:

With Dawn to dusk:

And with Moon Phase:

In case you’re curious, the images come from die.net. Here’s the explanation of how the images are created. I use some of die.net’s images on my Smartphone in PocketWeather.

RSW is way cool. I’ll probably leave it on Dawn to dusk for now. Combined with AWN, it makes an attractive and functional Ubuntu Lucid desktop. Many thanks to omgubuntu for the point out!

Responses

  1. […] optimizations and increased speed. So, I decided to upgrade to Natty and use the classic Gnome 2 with AWN as I have been for some time. Not being a total idiot, I tried this out in my test setup and it […]


Categories

