Posted by: reformedmusings | May 1, 2010

Initial life with newly upgraded Ubuntu Lucid Lynx 10.04 LTS

In my previous post, I talked about the upgrade experience itself, which won’t win any awards. Not by a long shot. Once I had Lucid up and running, I still had things to do. Although the bulk of my Karmic settings preserved, some did not.

Kernels of Truth?

The first thing that I notice during the recovery process described in my previous post was that Grub listed three new kernel versions from which to choose. That’s very odd. It listed 2.6.31-20, 2.6.31-21, and 2.6.32-21. The latter is the newest version. When I checked the root partition, sure enough, all those kernel images were indeed present. I’ve never seen this before. I started to remove them in Synaptic, but decided to deal with more pressing concerns. As it turned out, Update Manager took care of this during the normal course. However, it should never have been an issue.

System Tray

I didn’t expect this, but the System Tray proved to be my first challenge. I had no volume icon and the Bluetooth icon came and went. None of the icons looked like those in the Release Candidate in my virtual machine. That seemed very strange.

Apparently it may be related to the Notification Applet. I tried adding that, but found that it took up tons of room in the tray and primarily provided access to things that I don’t use. I found this forum post which provided the answer to the volume icon. You have to add gnome-volume-control-applet manually to the startup programs at System -> Preferences -> Startup Applications, but when you’re done it should look something like this:

This worked like a charm. When I restarted, it appeared in the tray along with the Bluetooth icon which has been there ever since. Strange. I also rearranged some of my other applets. I’m disappointed that OpenOffice.org 3.2’s Quickstarter applet icon isn’t transparent. Neither is VLC 1.06’s. Here are my two panels as of this moment:

(click on the image for a larger version)

I’m not all that thrilled with the System Tray outcome yet, and may yet play around with the applets more.

VMWare Workstation 7

I had issues in a VMWare Workstation 7 virtual machine with Lucid not recognizing the keyboard.  I posted here on how to fix that. Still, I wondered if I was shooting myself in the foot by upgrading to Lucid when VMWare had stated that it wasn’t supported yet.

I executed Workstation in Lucid from Applications -> System Tools. It produced a familiar dialog that one sees after kernel upgrades. Workstation worked through compiling all the component parts, then executed beautifully! Gotta love those folks.

Thunderbird 3.0.4 and Lightning Calendar

The Lucid release notes said that Lightning didn’t support the TBird in the release in Lucid yet. I use Lightning heavily, so took a chance that my earlier approach with TBird 3 would work.

After the mail loss fiasco of my own doing (see previous post), the real TBird update declared that my Lightning, Google Provider, and Timezone extensions were incompatible and disabled them. I expected that, of course.

Next, I went to my favorite source for updated versions (1.0b2pre) of these extensions. Sure enough, he had the updated versions available. I downloaded and installed them in a few minutes, restarted TBird, and the calendar appeared as usual. What a great community!

Third-party Repositories

Ubuntu disables all third-party repositories during an upgrade. That’s pretty smart and prevents conflicts. Once you have a stable system, you can go back into System -> Administration -> Software Sources to reenable your custom repositories.

This time, Lucid did something that made it easy to regain third-party sites. On previously active entries, it changed them all to point to lucid rather than karmic and then put the phrase “disabled on upgrade to lucid” in front of those entries. That made it very simple to find and then activate only those you had just used in Karmic (I have older ones that I keep around for reference but disabled). Simply find the entries with that phrase in front:

Then select and click Edit:

Now delete the Comment and click OK. It will appear normally in the repository list. Simply click in the checkbox in front of the entry to enable it. In this case, it didn’t update “karmic” to “lucid” like the others, probably because it wasn’t a word by itself. All the other did. I think that this is very well done by Ubuntu.

Partial Update?

After I enabled my third-party repositories, I received an expected update icon in the System Tray. I clicked on it and started to receive a list of packages to upgrade. But then a dialog popped on top. It said that I had a partial upgrade that didn’t finish and offered to finish it for me. OK…

It listed some of the same files that the Software Update listed, so I let it go ahead. It failed during the download and closed out. I then executed System -> Administration -> Update Manager. The same thing happened, but this time I canceled the partial upgrade dialog and simply accepted the updates in Update Manager’s main window. That worked fine, picking up from where the previous downloads had failed.

When it was done, I receive another dialog that said I had unused packages. A lot of them, including the extra, older kernels. It also included a few things that I wanted like the OpenOffice.org Thesaurus. It wasn’t a multiple choice question and I could see that many of the packages were not necessary, so I let it run and simply reinstalled the Thesaurus later. So far, so good, but it makes me wonder a bit about the upgrade process cleanup.

Moneydance and Sun Java

Moneydance is a Java application, and I use the Sun Java 6 libraries primarily because of their superior fonts. The Lucid release notes stated that the Sun Java 6 packages were moved to the partner repository. OpenJDK would be the default in Lucid. That could be an issue.

Fortunately, Lucid kept my Sun Java 6 setup and upgraded it appropriately. Moneydance worked perfectly after the upgrade.

Proprietary NVidia Drivers

This is a good news story. In previous versions of Ubuntu, the drivers were all listed by version number. In Lucid, the older ones are listed by version numbers, but the most current is listed as “Current” in System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers. It’s listed the same way in the repository. That’s a small thing, but it makes it easy to stay current without playing with version numbers or tying packages to them.

The current Lucid version, 195.36.15, flies. It’s much faster than the latest one that Karmic used. Many kudos to the great folks at NVidia for their great work and continued support for Linux!

Compiz Fusion

I expected some issues with Compiz and wasn’t disappointed. However, I’m going to make that a separate post as this one is getting long. I did get it working OK, but am still fussing with some idiosyncrasies in Lucid.

Other Stuff

Upgrades can often cause issues with sound, third-party applications, and proprietary and restricted audio and video codecs. I’m happy to report no such issues in my upgrade to Lucid. I use a lot of third-party software like Kompozer, Epson Image Scan, Xiphos, and even Krusader from KDE. I’m typing this while listening to streaming Internet radio from Sky.fm in .mp4a format with VLC. Everything upgraded and works fine. Kudos to the Ubuntu team!

Once I recovered my system as related in my last post, most stuff worked perfectly. I achieved a fully mission capable status in a very short time with all data and almost all settings intact. It wasn’t the best or easiest upgrade, but it worked out well once I resolved the initial problems that bricked my PC.

Responses

  1. […] about my upgrade to Lucid 10.04 LTS from 9.10 Karmic in this post, and some follow-up tweaking in this post. I mentioned but did not elaborate on the experience with Compiz Fusion. I pretty much expected a […]

  2. […] CPMPSU-650TX 650 watt power supply I run my PC 24/7. I use Ubuntu Lucid 10.04 to serve up the household printers and network the Dell Ubuntu laptop for backup purposes, so […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

