Posted by: reformedmusings | January 28, 2010

Does God practice temporary forgiveness?

I read Dr. Rob Rayburn’s letter to the PCA Standing Judicial Committee with some interest. I was curious to see how a church officer defends someone who holds virtually identical views to a man who was a hair’s breath from indictment a short time ago before fleeing the denomination. I found the read, though, greatly disappointing and even disturbing. I found the theological arguments to be more like blind assertions, and support was entirely lacking when Rayburn seemed to be making assertions about particular Scriptural texts.

I found the assertion that God forgives temporarily particularly disturbing. So, I wrote a post over on Greenbaggins critiquing that concept. I also realized a new connection to open theism that hasn’t occurred to me before in the Federal Vision debate.

Categories

