Posted by: reformedmusings | November 30, 2009

Malware purveyors linking to your blog?

I have noticed for a while that I regularly receive trackbacks from sites in China and other places in my spam folder. I’ve check out a few and all they seem to do is trackback to a lot of similar articles. I wondered why these appeared and what they hoped to gain. I may have discovered the answer.

ZDNet posted an excellent article about Cybercriminals syndicating Google Trends keywords to serve malware. The crux is that criminals check out the most popular keywords on Google and perhaps other search engines every day, then put the popular content on prearranged blogs. If you allow them to link to your blog, then you become part of the malware distribution scheme. Wow. Cybercriminals continue to get more sophisticated.

Bottom line: Don’t allow links to sites that simply parrot yours and others’ posts.

Categories

