Posted by: reformedmusings | November 12, 2009

Ubuntu Karmic 9.10 vs. Epson Photo Image Print System

This story does not have a happy ending. I have not been able to get the Epson PIPS drivers to work on Karmic. [UPDATE: Fixed it! Link at the end of this post.] I’ll make this short. I tried lots of solutions, pored over the web for help, found nothing. I did eventually get the PIPS drivers to install, but they don’t work. The stock Gutenprint driver works fine with the CX7800, but doesn’t produce the high quality photos of the PIPS driver.

Here’s how I got the PIPS driver to install.

I downloaded the latest driver for my Epson Stylus CX7800 printer from Avasys. To convert the rpm package to a deb in the terminal, you need to install alien:

sudo aptitude install alien

Then you can convert the driver package:

sudo alien -c -d pips-scx7700-cups-2.6.3-1.i386.rpm

The -c converts the scripts in the package, which is very important. The -d specifies a .deb output file. When alien finishes, it produces a message like:

pips-scx7700-cups_2.6.3-2_i386.deb generated

But it will not install because it depends on three libraries that aren’t in Karmic or its repositories: libgtk1.2, libgtk1.2-common, and libglib1.2ldbl. In cases like this, one can often install the required libraries from older version repositories. In this case, I went to Jaunty’s repositories since PIPS worked fine in Jaunty, downloaded all three and installed them. To work correctly, they must be installed in this order: libglib1.2ldbl, libgtk1.2-common, libgtk1.2. That prevents dependency issues between them and then they will install fine.

Once the dependent libraries are installed, you can install the PIPS driver. Because it’s a 32-bit package and I’m running 64-bit Karmic, I had to use force-architecture. You can leave that part out if you’re running a 32-bit installation. The installation command is:

sudo dpkg -i –force-architecture pips-scx7700-cups_2.6.3-2_i386.deb

That will now “successfully” install the PIPS driver. You can then install your printer as I describe in this post. However, whenever I try to print to the PIPS printer, the job ends up being routed to my other USB printer and things go downhill from there.

I wrote a post on Avasys’ forum seeking help. If I get anything useful, I’ll post it back here. If anyone has any more ideas, I’d love to hear them.

UPDATE: Solved! It was not a driver issue per se. See this post.

Responses

  1. […] in this post of the basic installation under 32-bit Ubuntu. I then updated that for 64-bit Ubuntu here, but I made a mistake during that installation which I fix in this post. I followed all that in my […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

