Posted by: reformedmusings | November 12, 2009

Settings changed by Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic upgrade

When I upgraded to Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic from 9.04 Jaunty, it appeared that the upgrade process preserved all my settings. However, I’ve found several that were changed for unknown reasons.

First, I found that my screen kept blanking after about 5 minutes of idle time. So, I sent into System -> Preferences -> Power Management. I worked my way through all the settings numerous times, but they didn’t make any difference in this behavior. Hmmm.

After a while of this nonsense, I remembered one other possibility. I went to System -> Preferences -> Screensaver:

Screensaver-Preferences

I had alway used the screensaver to put up a blank screen after 1 hour. The Karmic upgrade set the timer to 5 minutes! I have no idea why Karmic changed that setting, but it’s fixed now.

Also, I had networked my printers through my desktop for the laptop to use. This all worked swimmingly in Jaunty. It stopped working after the upgrade to Karmic. I checked the printer properties under System -> Administration -> Printing and sure enough, Karmic had “unshared” them. So, I right-clicked on the appropriate printers and rechecked Shared:

printer-share-set

But that didn’t fix the issue. Digging further in the Printers dialog menu, I clicked on Server -> Settings in the upper left. Sure enough, Karmic had reset the server not to share any printers on my network. So, I checked the “Publish shared printers connected to this system” box which Karmic’s upgrade had cleared:

cups-server-settings

After that, all worked fine.

It’s hard to understand why Karmic changed these particular settings, but the changes caught me off guard. Hopefully this will save someone else some time.

Categories

