Posted by: reformedmusings | September 27, 2009

Kimber M1911 .45 ACP Loyalty

I’m a big fan .45 ACP M1911 pistols, especially those from Kimber Manufacturing, Inc. I picked up my first Kimber simply because it was available at the local gun shop, displayed high quality manufacture, and was priced to move when I needed it. It’s been a love affair ever since.

SS Ultra Carry

I love Kimber’s reliability, accuracy and especially their crisp target triggers. The barrel to bushing/slide fit, and slide to frame fit are tight yet functional.

What earned my loyalty, though, was Kimber’s service. I’ve interfaced with them several times. I had them put in a white-dot front sight on a Stainless Target, but the dot eventually fell out of the sight. I glued it back in, but it was never straight. They offered to replace it immediately when I called, but I got used to it and decided to let it go. Later, I lost the set screw out of the rear sight on the Target. I should have loctited it, but never got around to it. I called Kimber service to get a replacement screw.

After some moments of confusion, we discerned that I had an old model of the adjustable rear sight. The new version no longer used a set screw. So, Kimber offered to replace the rear sight for free. I then mentioned the front dot from years earlier. No problem – they’d replace that as well while they had the slide! They turned the job around door-to-door in about a week. That’s how you keep customers for life.

That’s just one example. I’ve always received quick, accurate answers to questions either by email or phone. They stand 100% behind their firearms.

kimber stainless target2

I was able to shoot a wide selection from Kimber’s current M1911 line at TREXPO East recently. The consistency of quality and feel across the line was impressive. Their new Crimson Trace series proved interesting, but I’m not a fan of laser sights. I found the button and the laser a distraction. I’m sure that practice with it would overcome the button issue.

There are a number of good manufacturers of M1911 pistols. I’ve shot virtually all the major and minor production models across the industry, and for my money, Kimber still tops the stack.

And why .45 ACP?

ATT00005

Responses

  1. […] wrote about my Kimber M1911 .45 ACP loyalty in this post. I recently put that concept to the test. I decided it was time for another .45 ACP. My SS Ultra […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

