Posted by: reformedmusings | September 6, 2009

The Lens of Confessions Revisited

I posted at Greenbaggins to try to bring the discussion about using the Westminster Confession as a lens through which we should view Scripture back to the Reformed sphere. Therein, I address the issues raised by several Federal Vision blog posts as well.

I experienced the reality of using the proper lens through which to view Scripture. Years ago, I taught the same adult Sunday school group for five years. It was in a military chapel and had an eclectic mix of denominations representated. I led them through Dr. R.C. Sproul’s Holiness of God, Chosen by God, Providence of God, Cross of Christ, and Christian Character. At the end, I put together one class to tie it all together. It was a succinct summary of Reformed theology. Several folks objected that points in my summary were not covered earlier in class. I was able to show from where each one derived to their satisfaction.

Several months after I left that base, I received an email from one previously ardent Arminian. They said that before our class, they never saw the extent of God’s sovereignty and His covenantal design in Scripture, but now saw it everywhere that they read. The Holy Spirit worked in their heart to modify their lens – all to the glory of God alone.

Categories

