Posted by: reformedmusings | July 8, 2009

Fixing Firefox 3.5 Search Engines after installation

As I said in this post, Firefox 3.5 went stupid on my search engines when I installed it. I had about 10 on the list under Firefox 3.0. The worst part was that Google and Yahoo!, my two primaries, were gone. Hmmm. Google was supposed to be the default. The only two search engines left were two that I installed from 3rd party sites.

Even more curious, Firefox 3.5 would do Google searches from the address bar. When I checked about:config (type about:config in the Firefox address bar), it still showed Google and Yahoo! as my #1 and #2 search engines, and keyword.URL was correct for Google. Yet, they didn’t appear on the search bar. Double hmmm. This made no sense.

I searched the Internet and Mozillazine, but didn’t find any help. Others had the same problem, but no one provided an effective answer. Going to Mozilla’s Search Engine add-ons didn’t turn up either unadulterated Google or Yahoo! engines on the site. I wasted a lot of time looking, though.

After poking around the Net for a while, I found the Mycroft Project Search Engine Plugins page. Bingo! I installed both basic Google and Yahoo! engines in seconds. They also have a ton of other engines, including country/language specific ones – everything that you need to bring Firefox 3.5 back up to scratch. Outstanding resource!

Problem solved. I’m now fully functional in 64-bit Firefox 3.5 on 64-bit Ubuntu Jaunty 9.04. Happy camper!

Responses

  1. Thanks, that saved me a bit of trouble.

  2. You’re welcome!

  3. Same thing happened to me, good thing your post was high on google results about the problem, thanks!

  4. Glad it helped! Thank you for taking the time to write.


Leave a Reply

Categories

