Posted by: reformedmusings | April 27, 2009

Finishing the Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Upgrade

NOTE: If you performed a clean install, then none of this applies to you. The following is only an issue if you upgraded from Intrepid.

I documented my upgrade from Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid to Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty in this post. It turns out that not everything upgraded. When I restored the daily update notifications, I found some things that wouldn’t update. Here’s the list from my system as displayed in the Update Manager:

jaunty-manual-upgradesIt turns out that these files had version updates beyond what Update Manager normally handles. How did I get to the point illustrated above where they could be updated? If you quick search on Brasero in Synaptic and click on the box next to it, you’ll get this popup window:

synaptic-brasero-update

Although grayed out in this screenshot because I had already fixed it, notice the “Mark for Upgrade” line third from the bottom of the popup. Before I fixed Brasero and the others, Mark for Upgrade was available to be selected in the popup. I selected it and then Synaptice offered files for removal and upgrade. One that I remember for removal was Nautilus CD Burner. Anyway, I checked Mark for Upgrade for Brasero, gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad, and liblucene2-java, and Synaptic took care of the dependencies and conflicts which you can see in the first screenshot. Clicking on Apply made the changes.

You can see which files didn’t upgrade in your system by installing a program or just running a daily update. Update Manager will list programs that won’t be updated. That’s the list you’ll have to tackle manually in Synaptic, but there won’t be many. Brasero is the big one. It only took  a few minutes and I was off to the races.

Leave a Reply

Categories

