Posted by: reformedmusings | November 21, 2007

Attack from Moscow – Replaced

The original post under this title has been withdrawn. Rev. Mike Lawyer has written a very gracious letter apologizing for his posts and accusations that caused me to write the previous one here. I am honored to humbly accept Rev. Lawyer’s apology in full. Indeed, his letter is a model of Christian repentance. He also graciously modified an earlier post to reflect his new understanding of the situation.

I freely apologize to Rev. Lawyer for the tone of my original post. It is way too easy to strike back at those who wrong us, but as I wrote in another post about a week after I published the original version of this post, Christ commands us to do better. For falling short of my Lord’s just expectations and surely offending Rev. Lawyer in the process, I am truly sorry. That I did not pull the post sooner, especially after my subsequent admonition to the blogging community on tone, stands as a testimony to simul justus et pecator. I offer no excuse.

One more thing. Rev. Lawyer assured me in his letter that Doug Wilson had no part in his posts, nor was he asked to post them. I accept that as stated. I hereby retract all previous comments about such a conspiracy and apologize to Doug and Mike for thinking and posting otherwise.

I do not have the words to express my joy and relief at being able to put this episode behind us. We all sin, and yet are too quick to point out the sins of those we feel have sinned against us. As I was so quick to do so in Rev. Lawyer’s case, so I must be equally quick to forgive. To do otherwise would be to deny our Lord and His gracious work in our lives.

I cannot leave this subject without publicly thanking all those who rose to my defense during this time. I thank the Lord for such dear brothers and sisters and their love, and am humbled by your courage. Now I ask all of you to join me in celebration of this Christian reconciliation and to move on from here with gratitude in our hearts for the work of the Spirit in our lives.

Soli Deo Gloria!

Responses

  1. […] is pathetic; you can’t make this stuff up. Praying for you Bob. And So It Begins Green Bagginses Attack from Moscow Reformed Musings __________________ Chris Coldwell Lakewood Presbyterian Church (PCA), Member Naphtali Press: […]

  2. […] Attack Dogs Bob Mattes over at Reformed Musings has been nipped at lately by one of Doug Wilson’s attack dogs (not sure of the breed, but I […]

  3. […] Indeed, a worthy cause for celebration. The Lord is gracious indeed. I have an explanatory post on the subject at Attack From Moscow – Replaced. […]


Categories

