Posted by: reformedmusings | July 6, 2007

Good Summer Reading and Viewing

The PCA Christian Education and Publications bookstore at General Assembly had a 1/2 price sale on some great new books. I’m currently reading By Faith Alone: Answering the Challenges to the Doctrine of Justification edited by Gary L. W. Johnson and Guy Prentiss Waters. The introduction has a nice short summary of the history of the New Perspective on Paul and Federal Vision. The rest of the book contains a collection of essays by folks with names very familiar in the Reformed world.

Another book that I picked up for 1/2 price at General Assembly was Covenant, Justification, and Pastoral Ministry edited by R. Scott Clark. It contains essays by faculty members of Westminster Seminary California centered on classic Reformed views of Justification and related doctrines. there’s a great discussion of this book on Gospel or Death. I’ll be reading this when I’m done with By Faith Alone.

On the topic, I also picked up Justification by Francis Turretin. This is a classic 7th Century treatment of the doctrine of justification with an introduction by R. C. Sproul.

These should keep me busy this summer.

On the blog circuit, apparently A Worthy Walk crashed, taking its content with hit. I’m sorry for the loss, but glad to see that it is being restarted as Abundance of Grace. I always wonder about the reliability of blogs. As a result, I “backup” this one after every major article–just in case. I’ve already lost one long post which I had to recreate from scratch.

Off topic: For pure entertainment value, nothing can beat Live Free or Die Hard with Bruce Willis. What a great movie–two hours of heart-pumping, adrenalin-cranking, testosterone-exuding action. The language isn’t bad, so you can take your kids. Hey, it even has a plot! Like a fine wine or a well-made .45ACP, Willis improves with age. I’ll probably see it again on the big screen, and that would be unprecedented.

Categories

