Posted by: reformedmusings | October 18, 2013

Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander Upgrade

I noted that I started my upgrade last night. The servers were obviously hammered by early adopters, so I left the download running after I went to bed. When I woke up this morning, the installation was mostly complete. Ubuntu was waiting for my decision on the network configuration file, which I promptly provided. The installation finished minutes later and the system rebooted.

Net result? Perfect. No issues at all. My NVidia video worked, and my entire setup was nicely preserved. On the surface and using email, etc., you wouldn’t even know that an upgrade had been accomplished, Perfect.

I notice that the Firestarter firewall  manager has been decommissioned although it was fully functional. I’ll have to hunt down a new manager. Also, according to the release notes, Saucy will only be supported for 9 months instead of the customary 18 months. I presume this has to do with Canonical’s proposed move to rolling releases.

Anyway, Saucy upgraded perfectly here. Although YMMV, it looks like the water is fine fur jumping in here!

Responses

  1. I’m glad your upgrade went well. I’m not sure when I should try to upgrade (again). For some reason, Saucy hasn’t liked my internet connection. :(

  2. Sorry to hear that. Are you using wireless with an older wifi card?

    • Yes, I am. I didn’t think my wifi card was that old!

      • Maybe your card’s manufacturer has a proprietary driver that would work. I had trouble with my wife’s wifi on her laptop a few years ago, but was able to get it working by playing w/drivers.

        • Thank you very much. I’ll try it. I read every last question on Ask Ubuntu about internet problems with Saucy and my card came up several times.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

