Posted by: reformedmusings | October 20, 2012

Mostly flawless upgrade to Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Ubuntu released 12.10 Quantal Quetzal Thursday. So, I used a mirror to upgrade yesterday. Within a few day of new version releases, upgrades should be done from a fast mirror as the primary country servers will be hammered. I had to do some preparation work to accommodate VMWare Workstation 9 and cleanup on compiz, but otherwise had no issues.

The short story on Workstation 9 is that you must uninstall it completely before upgrading to Ubuntu 12.10 because of the new Linux kernel 3.5 version. You can find that uninstall procedure at this link. After upgrading to Quantal, then reinstall Workstation 9 and immediately apply this patch. Then follow the instructions in this post and your VMWare Workstation 9 will work flawlessly. Don’t forget or skip restarting your system where indicated. It’s a bit convoluted until VMWare updates Workstation 9 to the newer Linux kernel version. Although very powerful and flexible, VMWare Workstation tends to lag the new Linux kernels.

That aside, I simply ran the version upgrade from Update Manager. Ensure that you have “For any new version” selected in Software Sources at the bottom of the Updates tag:

Alternately, you can run it from a terminal with:

sudo apt-get update
sudo do-release-upgrade

This will run its course. Using a mirror site and a 25 Gbps connection, it took me maybe 15 minutes or so while I was doing something else. After the upgrade, 12.10 booted up without issue. My nVidia 8800 GTS card proprietary drivers updated automatically during the upgrade. Very nice.

However, although the display worked fine, compiz lost its settings. I had to go into Compiz Configuration Settings Manager (CCSM) to reset my preferred settings. I noticed, however, that Cube Deformation and Reflection, Cube gears, and some of my favorite animations were missing. I checked and compiz-plugins-extra is installed but it doesn’t appear to be working. I tried reinstalling but that didn’t make a difference. Not a big deal, but a bit annoying.

The good news is that the cube works and rotates fine. I always forget how to get the pointer scroll wheel to rotate the cube only when the pointer is not in a window. The best way to do that involves the Viewport Switcher in CCSM. Simply go to the Desktop-based Viewport Switching tab, then set Move next to Button5 and Move previous to Button4:

Works like a charm.

I’m writing this from my new Ubuntu 12.10 setup, so you know that it’s working fine. I’ll write more about the changes later. Overall, this upgrade proved far smoother than my upgrade to 12.04 – almost a non-event this time.

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Gigable – Tech Blog.

  2. Reblogged this on linuxtasik.

  3. I’m looking into these missing features of compiz now. Will let you know if I find out anything.

  4. Thanks for stopping by! It turns out that this is a known issue. There is a launchpad bug report active for it. Not a big deal, but I miss my fire animation and cube reflections.

  5. Worked for me right up to the “in this post” link in the narrative. You *must* reboot after running the “sudo rm /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/misc/vm*” command. After that, everything worked great… Thanks for your help!

    • You’re welcome! Thanks for stopping by. You are correct, the reboots are a must because the system loads the VMWare drivers on startup.

  6. [...] talked about my pretty smooth upgrade to Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal in this post. As time went on, I found some minor cleanup [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

