Posted by: reformedmusings | May 2, 2012

Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Precise Unity desktop with the compiz cube

I don’t have time for a longer post about my “final” setup, but since I’m taking screenshots tonight I thought that I’d put up my 3D Unity desktop:

The wallpaper is Moraine Lake in Banff National Forest, Canada.

And of course, there’s the required compiz cube:

compiz cube with 3d windows, reflection, and endcaps

Better look at transparency and internal gears

Hopefully I’ll get a chance this week to post on how to overclock an nVidia card in Precise this week as well.

Responses

  1. [...] Although KWin does a nice job with compositing, it doesn’t have nearly the flexibility or polish of compiz. Compiz’ cube reflection is much more impressive. Check it out at the end of this post. [...]

  2. [...] my desktop from an up-to-date Ubuntu 11.10 to 12.04 LTS proved to be a nightmare, although it worked out in the end. On the other hand, upgrading my laptop from Ubuntu 10.04 LTS to 12.04 LTS proceeded without [...]

  3. [...] good news is that the Compiz cube settings survived the upgrade to Ubuntu Raring 13.04. When all was said and done, the cube still [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

