Posted by: reformedmusings | March 21, 2011

Getting Flash to work in Firefox 4 RC2

I will post more on my Linux adventures from this past weekend later, but one quick thing to pass on. I played with Firefox 4 RC2 a bit. I’ll will write more about it later, but one thing stood out.

When I downloaded the RC from the Mozilla web site and installed it, I discovered that Flash did not work in it.  As usual, I searched the Web for an answer, but didn’t find anything directly, just lots of other folks with the same problem. What I did find was a link to the nightly Firefox 4 builds. I Drilled down to the 64-bit, U.S. English version, downloaded and installed build 3. Voila! Flash worked fine in RC2 build 3. I made no other changes at all, just installed build 3.

If you’re having trouble with Flash in Firefox 4 RC2 or earlier, try build 3 from March 18. Worked for me. More on Firefox 4 later.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

